Course Materials
Application Forms
About LNMU

The Temple of Learning Lalit Narayan Mithila Vishvidyalaya, Darbhanga is an outcome of the cherished desire of the people of this region. Eminent academicians like Dr. Amarnatha Jha, Dr. R.C. Mazumdar, Dr. A. S. Altekar, Dr. Sunit Kumar Chaterjee and many others had expressed their view in favour of the establishment of modern University at Darbhanga. The demand was voiced time and again on the floors of the state legislatures and in the Parliament. On the 27th January, 1947 (Vasantpanchami Day) at a meeting of some of the leading citizens.


Mithila University was established on August 5, 1972 by an Ordinance of the Government of Bihar subsequently enacted through legislatures. The University is governed by the Bihar State Universities Act, 1976. The University was renamed as LALIT NARAYAN MITHILA UNIVERSITY vide University notification No. 6760-7244 dated 28 April, 1980.

The territorial jurisdiction of the University is spread over four districts of Bihar namely Madhubani, Darbhanga, Samastipur and Begusarai. The university has 43 constituent colleges and 25 affiliated colleges besides two government colleges - Darbhanga Medical College & Hospital and Rural Institute, Birouli, Samastipur. 42 constituent colleges and 07 affiliated colleges are registered under section 2 f and 12(B) of the U.G.C. Act, 1956.

The univesity has a picturesque and lushgreen campus spread over an area of nearly 230 acres.


1986 should go down as another important year in the history of L.N. Mithila University, when the University got much needed recognition of the University Grants Commission (U.G.C) under section 12(A) of the U.G.C Act paving way for the receipt of the various types of financial assistance from the UGC. The U.G.C started providing institutional development grants under section 12(B) of the U.G.C Act since February 1989. This notable achievement of the University accelerated pace of campus development. The developmental activities within the University campus began to stride with the investment of grants received from the U.G.C. and the State Government. Botany, Physics, Chemistry and Zoology Science Blocks, Central Library Building, Social Sciences Block, University Health Centre, University Health Centre. Kosi, Baghmati, and Gandak P.G. Hostels for boys and Archana (Kamala) Hostel for girl students are new additions to the structural built of the University campus. The last phase of the ninth five years plan has set the tempo of construction activities, as a result of which eight U.G.C. quarters for lecturers, canteen, an ambitious Silver Jubilee Hall are nearing completion. Besides, the projects of construction of large stadium, magnificent auditorium, quarters for Pro-Vice-Chancellor and registrar etc. are on the anvil.

At present, L.N. Mithila University has 43 constituent colleges and 22 University Departments combined with the courses of Business Management and Bio-Technology along with 15 affiliated colleges. The territorial jurisdiction of this University is spread over four districts of Darbhanga, Madhubani, Samastipur and Begusarai. Post Graduate teaching in different subjects is also available in some constituent college of four districts. Which the help of the University Grants Commission, Vocational Degree courses of different nature, have already been introduced in about 13 colleges of the University. Three Govt. Institutions also avail the facility of permanent affiliation such as Darbhanga Medical Colleges (D.M.C) Laheriasarai (Darbhanga), Govt. Teachers Training College, Samastipur and Rural Institute, Birauli (Samastipur). A number of private management institutions are also affiliated to this University.


To provide instructions in such branches of learning as the university may think fit including professional studies and technology and to provide for research and for the advancement and dissemination of knowledge.


Education, Training, Employment, Access equal opportunities and all other acts and things as may be requisite in order to further the objects of Art, Science and Other Branches of learning.

Institutions Affiliated to The University

Total Number of Affiliated Colleges - 25
Total Number of Constituent Colleges - 43
Stream Total No.
Liberal Arts, Science and Commerce 67
Professional Law 03
Medicine 01
Engineering NIL
Education 02
Management NIL


1. B.Ed
2. M.A. (Edu)
3. 3 Year Degree Course
4. 2 Year Degree Course
5. Certificate Course
6. Diploma Course
7. M.B.A.
8. B.C.A.
9. B.Lib
10. M.Lis
11. Distance Education Programs

The national and international linkages established for teaching

1. Indo-German Collaboration - Department of Botany and Bio-technology
2. CSMC Bhawnagar, Gujrat - Department of Botany and Bio-technology
3. Dept. of Business Administration, University of Albania, USA (MBA)
4. Stochholm University - Department of Maithili
5. ICPR/ UGC - Department of Philosophy
6. Banaras Hindu University - Department of Physics
7. IIT Kanpur - Department of Physics
8. Central Institute of Fisheries Education, Mumbai - Department of Zoology
9. IARC, France - Department of Zoology
10. CICFRI, Barrackpore - Department of Zoology
11. ITRC, Lucknow - Department of Zoology